gremlin.neocities.org

/gremlin/blog/4-2-24/

GitHub killed noobsandnerds.net

4/2/2024

Updated
4/16/2024


- The Good -

I am able to save (part of) it! I made a backup at some point before everything started 404ing so we are able to restore it and host it somewhere.

- The Bad -

My github account is 404ing along with the Noobs&Nerds website. The royalty free archive and blog are down for the forseeable future. The blog has no known backup and it had some really useful information on it that is a shame to be lost.

- The Ugly -

We don't know what caused this. It could have been github deciding that my account just did not exist or it could have been the actions of a troll or bad actor. GitHub has sent me zero emails regarding this. The most "risky" thing that I posted was royalty free music.


- What does this mean for gremlin.neocities and Noob&Nerds? -

I will be hosting webpages and restoring information such as blog posts from noobsandnerds.net here on gremlin.neocities. This may or may not be a temporary thing. I plan on eventually paying for neocities supporter so I can host multiple sites at once and use custom domains but we will see how that goes. As it is I am partial to gremlin.neocities as a domain so I will never willingly change that for this site.


Update: The website and repos are back up and my profile is no longer 404ing but it seems like my emails are no longer attached to it or something. I've deleted some dns settings and made backups of everything. This move is still worth it rather then being stuck with github pages. This also means we have the blog posts and audio library back. I used to recommend github pages for collaborative webpage making but this event and a list of other issues has made me stop doing that. Neocities is really cool and you should use that instead!

Update 2: I forgot to mention it earlier but I moved everything over to it's own neocities site since I have supporter on neocities now. I still have the current Noobs&Nerds site archived here on gremlin.neocities but I want it to be very clear that Noobs&Nerds is it's own community. It's not just my project, it's a community ran project. All links to Noob&Nerds on my site have been changed to reflect the move however you can view the archive at https://gremlin.neocities.org/noobsandnerds

browser.gif